Review: Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James

Title: Fifty Shades of Grey
Author: E.L. James
Genre(s): Adult Erotic Romance
How To Purchase: Paperback (Amazon) | Kindle (Amazon) | Kobo.com

My rating: 1 out of 5 stars

When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.

Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success—his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family—Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey’s secrets and explores her own dark desires.

Erotic, amusing, and deeply moving, the Fifty Shades Trilogy is a tale that will obsess you, possess you, and stay with you forever.

This book is intended for mature audiences.

Guys, I’m not going to lie. I hated Fifty Shades of Grey. Hated it so much that I’m reviewing it even though it’s not speculative fiction. It took me over six months to slog through this error-ridden, barely believable farce of a novel, and the only reason I finished was because I don’t like giving up on things. Even the novel’s cover makes the blood in the base of my spine simmer.

I started the book during the swirl of hype, and I’m glad, in a way, that I read it. I’m glad, in the same way that I’m glad that I saw the first half hour of the remake of Evil Dead, which is to say that I’m content it’s over, I never have to experience it again, and I don’t have to finish the rest of it.

Where do I begin?

The writer in me is annoyed at the grammatical errors (which I’m sure were fixed in recent editions by someone the author threw money at with her now untold piles of cash), repetitive use of words, and poorly constructed plot, which ended in a wholly unnecessary and mundane cliffhanger. Am I jealous of E.L. James’ success? If you mean, “Do you have a wee bit of trouble understanding why pop culture embraced this book instead of more substantial work, such as your own?” the answer is yes. Do I want to be jealous? No. But I’m not going to sit here and rip this book to shreds while pretending I’m not irked at its popularity.

The intelligent person in me is scratching her head at the annoying use of not one, but two imaginary voices in the main character’s head, her “oh, wow, I’ve never seen a penis or a whip before!” naivete, and her obsession with a guy she only just met. I’m not a teenager any more, but even when I was, I had heard of BDSM. Good Lord, Anastasia, do you not go on the interwebs beyond checking your email for Mr. Grey’s love notes?

Finally, the feminist in me is appalled at the popularity of this novel. Is this what women really want? A good-looking billionaire who can buy them crap, take them on helicopter rides, order them around, and lift them out of their ho-hum lives? The premise itself sickens me. I’m completely over romances where an obvious, built-in disparity of status exists: where the woman is at a disadvantage because of her social situation and the man is at an advantage because, well, women authors are still writing that we all need to be “saved.” At least Elizabeth and Jane in Pride and Prejudice had no other choice in life but to marry into money.

The one thing I applaud is that this novel’s success has brought erotica into the limelight. I’m bored with Western culture’s Victorian-era morals regarding sex, especially the disparity between women who have sex and men who have sex. The erotic scenes were well-written, which begs the question: Why were the rest of the novel’s plot and actions scenes so thin?

I wish Ms. James success in her future writing endeavors and hope that she uses her time to craft something that is worthy of her fame. I see potential. I just don’t see why everyone else loves this novel so freakin’ much.

Tell me what you thought of Fifty Shades of Grey. Am I being too harsh?

Find me on Twitter and Pinterest.

Update 10/19: If you’d love to hate FSOG some more, here are links to a couple more in-depth analyses:

Give me more! I love them.

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James

Leave a Reply

