Guest Post: Mike Hartner on Speculative Writing

Today is another very special day!

I am honored to host Mike Hartner on my blog. On Monday, I will post my impressions of his latest release, I, Walter. Meet Mike:

Mike HartnerAnd now, Mike’s thoughts on why he loves speculative fiction:

One day, oh so many years ago… when I was young and dinosaurs still roamed the Earth, I read this story.

It could have been Heinlein or Bradbury. The more I think about it, even with the many years of fog that has clouded the story and the author, I’m more certain it was Bradbury than Heinlein. But, I could be wrong. After all, I was a semi-typical kid, and I went through my sci-fi/speculative period in my late pre-teens/early teen life.

In this story, the main character is a child. On a distant planet. In our solar system. He lives in metal tubes. Imaginary homes, that I used to liken to very large sewer pipes, or space-station modules. And one or two of them would resemble telescopes. They were windows, trying to find the sun. And they would eventually find the sun, maybe one or two days a year.

This story was depressing as all H!. But it left an impression on a child growing up in the Prairies, a place where sundogs were regular sightings in the winter time, and clear skies weren’t. Even today, as I live through the wet and cloudy winters of the Pacific Northwest, there are days when I can relate to that character.

Whether I’ll ever find that story or its book again is immaterial. What will always be important is the impression.

About Mike

Mike Hartner was born in Miami in 1965. He’s traveled much of the continental United States. He has several years post secondary education, and experience teaching and tutoring young adults. Hartner has owned and run a computer firm for more than twenty-five years. He now lives in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, with his wife and child. They share the neighborhood and their son with his maternal grandparents.

If you’d like a sneak peak at his book before my review goes up on Monday, you can find I, Walter on Amazon. You can also check out more of his writing on his website.

Leave a Reply

