I’m looking for bloggers for a cross-blog critique event

If you’re a writer on social media (and you probably are if you’re reading this blog entry), you’re probably aware of the myriad critique events geared toward authors seeking representation: query critiques, first sentence critiques, first 250 word critiques, and other things of that nature. I personally haven’t seen any critique events geared toward self-published writers (though I will admit that I haven’t strenuously searched for them), but I think it’s time we had one!

Though nothing so exciting exists at the end of this event as an offer of representation, I still believe that it can be valuable to all of us as a community of writers to network and hone our writing. Not only that, but I’m not excluding anyone–traditionally published or those looking to be traditionally published can participate in two out of the three proposed events.

The event itself will be three weeks of critiques, each with a week-long focus. We bloggers will put out a call for entrants for two days. Then we will post the entries on our blogs and invite commenters to critique as many entries as they want, linking to each others’ blogs. We will need to moderate the comments, of course, but people have generally behaved themselves in other events I’ve seen, so I don’t expect trouble. (But we will be vigilant.)

Right now, I’m putting out a call for participating bloggers. At the moment, I have two confirmed participants besides myself, and I’m looking for at least two more (for a total of five). If I get more interest, fabulous! I’m not going to turn anyone down.

So let’s say there are five of us. We will each post five entries, one per day, throughout the week for a total of 25 entries. The submission window will be open for two days or until we reach 25 entries.

Here are the details thus far. Note that these dates are subject to change, depending on how quickly I can pull this together, everyone’s interest, and how this works with our schedules.

Weeks of May 12 and 19 – Post announcements and tweet that we’re welcoming participants
– Tues, May 13 – What is it? post + announcement of weekly giveaway
– Fri, May 16 – Who are the blog hosts? post
– Tues, May 20 – “Rules” post – Critique at least four other posts if you enter, be nice/helpful, don’t enter if you don’t want feedback
– Fri, May 23 – Reminder that NEXT WEEK is the first round of critiques

Week of May 26 – Critiques of first 500 words
Week of June 2 – Critiques of cover art (the only week non-self-pub can’t participate)
Week of June 9 – Critiques of book blurb or query letter

The format for each week would be:
– Sat prior to the critique week, 6 a.m. Eastern – Open for submissions to an email address I will setup
– Sun prior to the critique week, 5 p.m. Eastern – Closed for submissions – Or until we get (Number of bloggers) x 5
– Sun evening – I will sort through the entries and send them out to the bloggers
– Mon through Friday – Each morning at 6 a.m. Eastern a new batch of entries to critique goes live on each of our blogs (for a total of 5 unique entries each day)
– Fri, 5 p.m. – Weekly giveaway* ends – Blog post goes up with a reminder of next week’s critique or “end of event, thanks for participating”

*Giveaway – People love free stuff. If I get enough donations, we can also put on a Rafflecopter giveaway each week. So far I have the beginning of two sets of packages to give away:

1) To the entrants – One of the other bloggers is an editor and will provide a free critique of X pages (she’s still deciding how many) to one of the critique entrants, chosen by random draw each week.

2) To anyone who happens upon our Rafflecopter giveaway – I will donate e-copies of my new release coming out next month, and I have another person who will donate some money for an amazon gift card.

If you’re interested in donating, anything along those lines is appreciated (free copy of your book, editing services, money for amazon gift card). HOWEVER, it is not mandatory for any of the bloggers to donate to the giveaway. This was more of my “how to get the word out there” idea, and if it fizzles away with no interest, that’s fine with me. I’m not here to ask for your stuff.

Does this sound like something you’d like to participate in? Got some ideas for how to make it even more fabulous? Leave a comment here or send me an email at Samantha (dot) Saboviec (at) gmail (dot) com.

7 thoughts on “I’m looking for bloggers for a cross-blog critique event

  1. Reblogged this on Proof Positive and commented:
    Proof Positive is going to be part of a cross-blog critique, where authors can have their work critiqued by fellow writers, potential readers, and editors like me. On top of that, we’ll have prizes for participating! You can also join us as a blog host. Check out this exciting opportunity!

  2. Hi there! Christie Stratos, who’s my editor, alerted me, and I’d like to host the event in my blog. I’m not really clear as to what the posts will contain, but I’m sure I’ll catch up along the way.
    Greetings from Greece!
    Maria (MM Jaye)

    • I will be providing the majority of the content, since all the blogs will have the same intro / explanation info. You will just need to get the posts up, crit (at minimum) your hosted entries, and tweet/otherwise promote to get participants. I can give more details if you have more questioms. Please email me at Samantha (dot) Saboviec (at) gmail (dot) com and I will include you on future emails.

      I’m excited that you’ll be participating!

Leave a Reply

